A History of East Hanney
East Hanney ChapelEast Hanney had a chapel by 1288, dedicated to Saint James, however it was dissolved after Alice Yate took over the manor in 1546. Hanney Chapel was then built in 1862 and reopened in 1943, however it has since been closed.
St James’ ChurchThe present Church of England parish church of Saint James the Less was designed by the Gothic Revival architect George Edmund Street in a 13th century English style and built in 1856. It has since been made redundant and is now a private home.
A Village Rich in HistoryEast Hanney is a village and civil parish on Letcombe Brook, which has a long and rich history, dating back to 1288. The village is full of historic buildings and monuments, making it the perfect place to explore and discover the history of the area.
Renewable Energy at Dandridge’s Mill a Grade II Listed Building
Restored as Four Private ApartmentsDandridge’s Mill is a Grade II Listed building, built in the 1820s as a silk mill. After it ceased working, the building fell into disrepair, but has since been restored as four private apartments. This low-carbon redevelopment includes sources of renewable energy, such as an Archimedeans screw on the millstream that powers the property’s own electricity generator.
Low-Carbon RedevelopmentAt Dandridge’s Mill, we prioritize sustainability and low-carbon living. Our Archimedean screw on the millstream provides a renewable source of energy and is just one of the ways that we are reducing our carbon footprint. Our commitment to sustainability helps us to protect the environment and provide a better future for all.
Sustainable LivingDandridge’s Mill is committed to sustainable living and providing a better future for all. By using renewable sources of energy and investing in low-carbon redevelopment, we are helping to reduce our impact on the environment and create a better world for all. Our commitment to sustainable living practices is just one of the many ways that we are helping to make a difference.